Pride vs. Trust

“the woman said to Him, ’Sir, You have nothing to draw [water] with, and the well is deep”’ —John 4:11

This lady had no idea what was coming to her. She saw Jesus, noticed he was empty-handed. That he was not equipped to pull water out of that well. With her eyes, in the natural world, she saw someone incapable of getting water. But little did she know that Jesus was not there to quench His thirst nor was He looking to sastify hers. He saw what she really needed, which was forgiveness. He saw the thirst in her soul for acceptance. This need went beyond physical provision and only He was equipped to provide such acceptance and love. He is capable of meeting us and helping with our deepest needs. The needs that go beyond just superficial problems like hunger and thirst.

Today I read Oswald Chambers,

If we are honest, we will admit that we never have misgivings or doubts about ourselves, because we know exactly what we are capable or incapable of doing. But we do have misgivings about Jesus. And our pride is hurt even at the thought that He can do what we can’t.

I often find that I doubt the ability of God to save me in everyday matters. Matters of the heart and mind. A lot of this doubt stems from the idea that if I can’t help myself get over it, then how can God? And if He can, do I feel embarassed that I need help because I cannot do it on my own? This is pride.

In life, I strive to be really good at things. At the gym, it’s great to hit PR’s and become stonger and more proficient. With food, its great to figure out which foods help my body perform it’s best. You know, just finding what makes me a better human. These are all things that I control. I go to the gym and make myself stronger. I prepare my foods and make decisions that make myself healthier. I read books to gain more knowledge. I try to be honest and keep my word so I am regarded as a reliable individual.

Once I start looking at areas of my life where my ability to “be better” is affected by the decisions of others, like my childhood, my relationships, my job… I sometimes (ok, a lot of the time) get all bent out of shape. Some problems in my life need a solution and these problems are not under my control. A family member who is sick… a broken marriage… the selfishness of others. In these areas I must realize that freedom and peace does not stem from my efforts, but from trust in God who is equipped to provide a lasting resolution and acceptance that goes beyond this physical world.

Chambers’ again…

The reason some of us are such poor examples of Christianity is that we have failed to recognize that Christ is almighty. We have Christian attributes and experiences, but there is no abandonment or surrender to Jesus Christ. When we get into difficult circumstances, we impoverish His ministry by saying, “Of course, He can’t do anything about this.” We struggle to reach the bottom of our own well, trying to get water for ourselves… The well of your incompleteness runs deep, but make the effort to look away from yourself and to look toward Him.

Leave a Reply

